Important Nevada Traffic Laws That You Need To Know

Nevada's population continues to grow. If you are new to the area then this article is for you! Here, we discuss important Nevada traffic laws that you need to know.

We hope you stay safe while driving in the Silver State. If a driver injures you in a Las Vegas area car accident, contact an experienced personal injury lawyer. A personal injury lawyer will help to protect your rights and ensure you receive maximum compensation.

As a Las Vegas car accident victim, you don’t want to fight alone against insurance companies. They do not have your best interests in mind. Anthem Injury Lawyers has a dedicated team of lawyers and staff ready to help you with your personal injury case. Insurance companies and other parties are not interested in helping you receive what you should as a victim in a Las Vegas accident. Your Las Vegas accident lawyer should have a proven track record of winning cases like yours for significant compensation. Our lawyers offer you 25 years of experience winning top compensation for Las Vegas car accident victims.

Time is of the essence when pursuing compensation in car accident cases. Don’t delay—have our Las Vegas car accident lawyers review your case. Sometimes people avoid contacting a car accident lawyer because they worry about cost. You don’t have to worry about affordability. Our attorneys don’t get paid unless they win your case. Contact Anthem Injury Lawyers at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.

Important Nevada Traffic Laws That You Need to Know

If you are driving in Las Vegas, or anywhere in Nevada, then it is important that you follow the law. We obviously don't expect you to memorize every traffic law. However, there are important Nevada traffic laws that you need to know. These traffic laws are discussed below.

Child Safety Seats

At the start of this year, new requirements for child safety seats in Nevada went into effect. Nevada’s new car seat law requires that children under 6 years old and under 57 inches be properly secured in a car seat. The car seat (or booster seat) must be properly installed and appropriate for the child. Additionally, children must remain in rear-facing car seats until they are at least two years old. Older children should always wear a seat belt.

Seat Belts

In Nevada, everyone has to wear a seat belt. This includes passengers in both the front and back seat. You even have to wear a seat belt if you are riding in a taxi cab.


Nevada has a basic rule for speeding requiring that drivers drive at a reasonable and proper speed. Keep in mind that a reasonable and proper speed is not always the posted speed limit. Under Nevada's speed law, it is illegal to drive at:
- A rate of speed greater than is reasonable or proper, having due regard for the traffic, surface and width of the highway, the weather and other highway conditions.
- Such a rate of speed as to endanger the life, limb or property of any person.


In Nevada, drivers owe bicyclists a duty of care. Under Nevada's bicycle laws:
- A driver shall not intentionally interfere with the movement of a person lawfully riding a bicycle, an electric bicycle or an electric scooter.
- Additionally, a driver passing a bicyclist must move into the adjacent lane if possible. If moving over is not possible then the driver should give the bicyclist at least three feet of space.

Cell Phones and Texting

Do not use your phone while driving in Nevada. In Nevada, it is illegal to manually use a wireless, handheld device while driving. This includes texting, talking on the phone, and accessing the internet. You may use the device in handsfree mode.

Driving Under the Influence

In Nevada, you can be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol and other prohibited substances. Under Nevada law, it is unlawful to drive with a concentration of alcohol of .08 or more in your blood or breath. The limit is .04 in commercial driving and .02 if you are under 21.

Under Nevada law, it is unlawful to drive under the influence of prohibited substances. Prohibited substances include the following:
- Amphetamine
- Cocaine
- Cocaine metabolite
- Heroin
- Heroin metabolite
- Lysergic acid diethylamide
- Methamphetamine
- Phencyclidine
- Marijuana
- Marijuana metabolite


In Nevada, it is illegal to leave a child who is 7 years of age or younger in a vehicle if:
- The conditions present a significant risk to the health and safety of the child; or
- The engine of the motor vehicle is running or the keys to the vehicle are in the ignition, unless the child is being supervised by and within the sight of a person who is at least 12 years of age.


In Nevada, it is against the law to:
- Allow a pet to remain unattended in a parked or standing motor vehicle if conditions, including, without limitation, extreme heat or cold, present a significant risk to the health and safety of the pet.

Move Over

Nevada has a move over law that requires drivers to move over for any “traffic incident.” If you are driving in Nevada and approach a traffic incident, you are required to do the following:
- Reduce your speed
- Proceed with caution
- Be prepared to stop
- If possible, move to a lane that is not adjacent to the traffic incident

Right on Red

In Nevada, whenever a driver approaches a steady red signal they must come to a complete stop. Once the driver has come to a complete stop, they may make a right turn.

School Buses

Nevada law requires that drivers stop and not attempt to overtake or proceed past a school bus when the school bus has flashing red lights and students boarding or departing. Drivers do not have to stop if they are on a divided highway and the bus is on the other roadway.

Teen Drivers

Nevada imposes additional restrictions on teen drivers and has a Graduated Licensing Program.


In Nevada, U-turns are generally allowed if they can be made safely. In a business district, you must be at an intersection or on a divided highway where an appropriate opening exists.


We hope you stay safe while driving in Las Vegas. If a driver injures you in a Las Vegas area car accident, you should speak with an experienced personal injury lawyer. Some people wonder why they need a personal injury lawyer to help them. A personal injury lawyer will work aggressively to protect your rights and help you receive maximum compensation for your injuries.

Award-winning law firm Anthem Injury Lawyers is a team of experienced and dedicated personal injury lawyers. We are based in Henderson, Nevada, and serve clients throughout the Las Vegas area. When we say we offer personal injury law experience, we mean over 25 years of experience. This is the combination of knowledge and expertise you need to win significant compensation as a victim in a Las Vegas area accident. Our decades of experience, our expertise, plus our deep familiarity with all aspects of Nevada law, give you a powerful advantage. You will need that advantage to fight against those who may keep you from receiving what you deserve as a Las Vegas accident victim.

Your choice of an accident lawyer is one of the most consequential decisions you will ever make. It’s important to select a Las Vegas attorney that can put you in the best position to win your case. That’s why you need to speak with Anthem Injury Lawyers. Get the best accident attorneys in Las Vegas fighting for you. Our experts offer you the best opportunity to win top compensation. Contact Anthem Injury Lawyers today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.

Do You Need An Attorney?

If so, post a short summary of your legal needs to our site and let attorneys submit applications to fulfill those needs. No time wasted, no hassle, no confusion, no cost.

Posted - 07/13/2022